North American Drones – X-Factor Review

logo cx30

Review by Drew

We’ve recently gotten some small quadcopter drones from North American Drones in at Necessities and Temptations.  The X-Factor is their small entry to drone flying.  According to their website, the drone is made of hard cast plastic to ensure durability, and operated through a specialized smartphone app for ease of use.  The drone is able to take both still and video photography from a fixed camera that comes stock on the product.

I had a lot of fun trying to fly the X-Factor.  The setup was very simple.  The drone is about 8″ by 8″.  I quickly found the app on the Google Play store.  The drone actually emits a WiFi signal your phone connects to to control the drone.  The written instruction in the box were written in poorly translated English, but were very understandable.  The battery life was around 10 minutes or so.  The controls were very thorough.  My biggest issue is that I don’t know how to fly a quadcopter and the setup assumes you do.  I will need to take lessons or watch some videos to figure out how to drive.

Overall, I think the X-Factor is a nice entry point quadcopter for $220.  It didn’t break with my inept driving abilities.  I like the mounted camera that works well enough to drive using the view from it.  I would recommend this for the grownup kids.

Leave a comment